How’s it going, folks?

I’m trying something different this time. It’s going to be a collection of short stories involving my characters. I’ve always like reading stories, but now it’s time for me to try writing one. For the first story, it will be a simple one: She’s about to go on a date, but which hairstyle should she have for her lover?

Hope you enjoy my first short story~.


One week. That’s how long before the promise first date between Aoi Nagase and her lover. They have planned this since they became an item for quite a while. As surprising as it sounds, Aoi is a diligent girl, so she spends most of her time learning new knowledges, and since they’ve been meeting each other at home (they share a house), a date is essentially unnecessary. However, everyone else goes on a date because that’s when they truly share a good time together. So, Aoi and her lover agreed to have one.

It should be easy for Aoi. She has chosen her outfit after learning fashion from her good friend Chelsea, researched popular date spots around the area, and made an itinerary for their date. She has meticulously arranged everything. It is a flawless plan. But then, she looks at a mirror, and it seems there is an issue…

“…My hair has grown pretty long.” she mutters.

Twisting the tip of her hair bang, Aoi begins to think whether she should get a haircut. While long hair isn’t a bad option for her (after all, she began dating her lover while her hair is knee-length long), she spends most of her time having a short hair. That said, she feels like she wants to change her hairstyle occasionally.

And so, with that in mind, Aoi decides to have her hair done at a hair salon.

Inside the salon, Aoi looks around. The place is quite fancy, filled with flashy decorations, something you would normally find on a beauty salon. A receptionist approaches her on the front desk, having noticed a customer coming in.

“Welcome,” says the receptionist. “How may I help you?”

“I would like to have a haircut, please,” says Aoi.

“Certainly. We’ll have a hair stylist be ready for you.”

Aoi patiently waits, then she notices a mirror near the front desk, and she looks at her reflection on the mirror. She looks at her hair again, which is now chest-length long. As she twists strands of her hair, she begins to think; “should I cut my hair short, or should I keep it this long?”

Eventually, a hair stylist comes to Aoi; she is the same person whom Aoi has always requested to have her hair done. “Come, follow me, Aoi” she says. Aoi follows the hair stylist to a salon chair. She sits on the chair, relaxing herself. The hair stylist picks up a robe and wraps it around Aoi, covering everything but her head.

Standing behind Aoi and looking at her reflection on the mirror, the hair stylist asks her, “Which hairstyle would you like to have this time?”

Aoi looks back at the hair stylist, and after being indecisive briefly, she answers, “I’d like to have my hair cut short… please.”

Her indecisiveness doesn’t go unnoticed by the hair stylist. “You seems rather indecisive, Aoi,” she says. “It looks like you have other things in mind, like you want to impress someone. Your lover, maybe?”

Aoi is taken aback, her face is flushing red. “Th-that’s right… Normally I’d cut my hair short because I was told that it fits me.” She twirls the tip of her bang again. “But I’m wondering whether I want to keep my hair length long as it is.”

The hair stylist smiles at Aoi. “I have a date coming up, so if you can help me, I’d appreciate it,” Aoi says, taken aback by her reaction. Without question, the hair stylist simply nods, agreeing to help.

“Let’s see… how about we keep this length and bleach it?”

Aoi shakes her head, rejecting her suggestion. “I’d rather not have my hair color changed.” She looks at the tip of her hair, and starts pondering. “If I keep this hair length, what will you do?”

The hair stylist examines Aoi’s hair. Looking at her from every direction while occasionally humming, she begins to consider the hair styles that might suit her. Then, after a while, the hair stylist makes her decision.

“How about we bleach your hair, but only the tip of it?”

Aoi raises her right eyebrow. “the tip of my hair?”

“Mmhm,” the hair stylist nods. “We’ll tidy your hair a bit, cut it a little shorter, and then we’ll bleach the tip.” She holds a few strands of Aoi’s hair, brushing them to the tip. “That way, your hair color stays natural, but as it reaches the tip, the gradient will slowly turn your hair color into something more… colorful!”

Hearing her explanation, Aoi ponders the hair stylist’s offer. “A gradient hair color…”

“That’s right. We do your hair like that, when you cut your hair next time, you don’t have to worry about your hair color looking messy. Plus, it’s you, Aoi. You’ll look good on that hair style. I bet your lover’s gonna like it!”

“Is that so…” After a short while, Aoi nods, accepting the hair stylist’s offer. “I’d like to have that style please.”

“Alright, then!” The hair stylist brings out a color palette board. “Which color would you like to have?”

“Surprise me.”

“Okay then, I’ll choose the one that fits you~”


The day of the date. In a cafe near a train station platform, Aoi’s lover is sitting on a bar, waiting for Aoi to arrive. They look at their wristwatch, showing the time of 8:30. They have promised to meet at 9:00, so they had arrive 30 minutes earlier. After sipping their mochaccino, they put the cup on the table, when they hear a voice coming from their side, who is none other than Aoi.

“Sorry, did I make you wait?” Aoi says.

Instinctively, the lover looks to Aoi. “No, not at all, I was just enjoying a morning coffee.” It is then that the lover looks at Aoi’s appearance…

…and it leaves the lover in awe.

“Um…” Aoi blushes upon seeing her lover checking her appearance. “H-how do I look?”

“Wow.” the lover says, “You look beautiful, absolutely beautiful.” With an awe on their face, they continue to compliment Aoi. “Especially that hair style. You look so… different. You look really cool.” The compliment that keeps coming from her lover makes Aoi blushes even more.

“Th-thank you. I was told I might look beautiful and cool with this hair style, and they thought you will like it.”

“I do like it. It’s a refreshing look for you.” her lover says. “I’m glad to have a great lover like you~”

“G-Geez… flattery won’t get you anywhere.” In return to complimenting her appearance, Aoi looks at her lover as well. “You look very tidy as well.”

“Ah, I don’t think I look that different, Aoi. I should have put more effort in my appearance. Hehe.”

“…Indeed you should. Your tie is crooked.” Aoi grabs their tie, and tidies it up. “There, you look much better.”

The lover chuckles. “Ahaha, what am I gonna do without you, Aoi~”

While still blushing from that remark, Aoi sits next to them. She orders a cup of mochaccino, just like them. “We still have time before our train arrives.”

“Then, how about we enjoy our coffee while we’re here?”

Aoi nods, before leaning her head against their shoulder. In response, her lover lovingly pats her head. Time passes as they share a romantic time in the cafe until their train arrives…

“…I’m glad you like it.”


That’s it for my first short story. First time isn’t always perfect, but I’d like to know what you think about it. I will try to write more short stories going forward, so… look forward to it! (No pun intended)

Until next time~